Mango

Standard

Go Mangoes

Before coming to India, I had no idea what mango tasted like. Last week I drank mango juice for the first time. I thought it tasted a bit like apricots.
Today I had mango juice again and it was completely different. This one was more like banana milkshake.

One of my colleagues said that I’m tasting everything like a child who is learning to eat and discovering flavors for the first time. I think she is a good observer, in fact I had written almost the same thing to one of my colleagues in Germany maybe one or two hours earlier.
My boss has a mango tree in his garden, I’m very curious to see it, although he said that his mangoes are still green.

Maybe it is a bit silly to be so excited about a new fruit. Anyway, another colleague of mine, just arrived from Germany, talks about mango as much as I do, so at least I am not the only one.

Mango is a very common fruit here. On the contrary, apples are very expensive (2-3 euro/kg). At this time of the year, I guess many Italians are tired of always eating apples and they long for summer and for different types of fruit. I wonder whether Indians are as much excited about apples when they go to Europe.

Prima di venire in India non avevo idea di che sapore avesse il mango. La scorsa settimana ho bevuto un succo di mango per la prima volta. Ho pensato che sapesse un po’ di albicocca.
Oggi ho bevuto ancora succo di mango ed era completamente diverso. Questo sapeva piu’ di frullato alla banana.

Una mia collega mi ha detto he assaggio tutto come un bambino che impara a mangiare e scopre i sapori per la prima volta. Penso che sia una buona osservatrice, infatti avevo scritto circa la stessa cosa a un mio collega tedesco una o due ore prima.
Il mio capo ha un albero di mango nel suo giardino, sono molto curiosa di vederlo, anche se ha detto che i suoi manghi (hmm…sara’ giusto il plurale?*) sono ancora verdi.

Forse e’ un po’ sciocco essere cosi’ eccitati per un frutto nuovo. Comunque un mio collega appena arrivato dalla Germania parla di mango quanto me, quindi almeno non sono l’unica.

Il mango e’ un frutto molto comune qui. Al contrario, le mele sono molto care (2-3 euro al kg). In questo periodo immagino che molti italiani saranno stufi di mangiare sempre mele e non vedranno l’ora che sia estate e che ci siano altri tipi di frutta. Mi chiedo se gli indiani siano altrettanto eccitati riguardo alle mele quando vanno in Europa.

*mi dicono dalla regia che effettivamente il plurale di mango e’ manghi.

About Manuela

I'm a software engineer recently relocated to Bangalore, India with my wonderful husband Luca. I'm creative and active, I love sewing, cooking, walking and learning new things. Sono un ingengere informatico trasferita da poco a Bangalore, in India col mio meraviglioso marito Luca. Sono creativa e attiva, amo cucire, cucinare, camminare e imparare cose nuove.

5 responses »

Leave a Reply

