No-Internet week

Standard

Last Wednesday was my last working day in Italy. I said goodbye to everyone and added that I would be reading emails in case anyone needed me. When I got home, I learned that during the night a wall and some meters of road broke and fell down just beside the house. Nobody was hurt but Internet connection and telephone could not be used.

Why would I want to connect to the Internet?! Everything was ready but visa, air tickets and hotel reservation!

It was strange to live one week disconnected, but not too bad after all.

Here is what I learned this week…

  • True friends are always there for you.
  • It’s good to have true friends that have a good Internet connection and scanner at home, especially if they are able to bake a delicious cake in a few minutes. Thank you from the bottom of my heart!!
  • My dad can become an excellent dressmaker assistant if sufficiently bored.
  • Even though I rarely use my mobile, it can be very useful.

Yesterday was an eventful day:

  • Luca’s visa is ready
  • Air tickets are confirmed and I booked my vegetarian meal.
  • We have a hotel reservation and a driver will be waiting for us when we arrive.
  • Luca got a haircut and looks great!!
  • We are back online!!
  • My last dress made in Italy is finished, thanks to my mother!! (I’ll post a photo on the sewing forum when I first wear it)

Mercoledì scorso è stato il mio ultimo giorno di lavoro in Italia. Ho salutato tutti dicendo che avrei letto le email in caso qualcuno avesse avuto bisogno di me. Appena arrivata a casa, ho saputo che durante la notte è crollato un muraglione con un pezzo di strada proprio accanto al palazzo. Nessuno si è fatto male ma la linea telefonica e Internet erano fuori uso.

Perché mai avrei dovuto connettermi a Internet?! Era tutto pronto tranne i visti, i biglietti dell’aereo e la prenotazione dell’hotel!

È stato strano vivere una settimana disconnessi, ma non è andata tanto male dopo tutto.

Ecco cosa ho imparato questa settimana…

  • I veri amici ci sono sempre
  • È bello avere dei veri amici che hanno una buona connessione a Internet e uno scanner a casa, soprattutto se sono capaci di fare una torta deliziosa in pochi minuti. Grazie dal profondo del mio cuore!!
  • Mio papà può diventare un eccellente assistente sarto se sufficientemente annoiato.
  • Anche se uso raramente il mio cellulare, può essere molto utile.

Ieri è stata una giornata ricca di eventi:

  • Il visto di Luca è pronto
  • I biglietti aerei sono confermati e ho prenotato il mio pasto vegetariano
  • Abbiamo un hotel prenotato e un autista ci aspetterà al nostro arrivo
  • Luca si è fatto tagliare i capelli e sta benissimo!!
  • Siamo di nuovo online!!
  • Il mio ultimo tubino made in Italy è finito, grazie a mia mamma!! (Metterò una foto sul forum di cucito quando lo indosserò la prima volta)

 

About Manuela

I'm a software engineer recently relocated to Bangalore, India with my wonderful husband Luca. I'm creative and active, I love sewing, cooking, walking and learning new things. Sono un ingengere informatico trasferita da poco a Bangalore, in India col mio meraviglioso marito Luca. Sono creativa e attiva, amo cucire, cucinare, camminare e imparare cose nuove.

2 responses »

  1. Proprio stamane pensavo: “Ma come mai non ci sono aggiornamenti?”! Bhè, epopea preparatoria😉 a quando la partenza?

Leave a Reply

